Election of Shire President and Deputy Shire President

Published on Tuesday, 31 October 2023 at 5:22:23 PM

New Leadership Team Elected at the Shire of Ravensthorpe

At a Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 31 October 2023 Cr Tom Major was elected Shire President and Cr Mark Mudie was elected Deputy Shire President for the Shire of Ravensthorpe.

Now in his seventh year on Council, President Major said he has learned a lot and worked with some great people over that time including his predecessor, Keith Dunlop.

Pictured: Left, Cr Mark Mudie, newly elected Deputy President with Cr Tom Major on the right, newly elected Shire President.

“Keith Dunlop led Council and the community through a pretty turbulent period, I'm hopeful we are heading into an era of stability and sustainable growth where we can really focus on the good things and drive the region forward," President Major said.

"It is a privilege to be elected President and a great responsibility that I take very seriously.

"We’ve now got a great team of seven Councilors who all bring their own skillsets and experiences to the table to do the best for the community. Combine that with our dynamic and committed Shire team and the future looks bright for our great community!"

The Special Council Meeting saw the swearing-in of two new councillors, Rachel Gibson and Robert Miloseski, while re-elected councillors Mark Mudie and Sue Leighton were also sworn in, reaffirming their commitment to the Shire's welfare and development. 

Shire of Ravensthorpe CEO Matthew Bird congratulated President Major and said he looked forward to working with all of the new councillors.

“I’d like to congratulate Tom Major as he takes on this new role as Shire President, I know his experience of serving on Council since 2017 will help him as he transitions to the leadership role,” he said.

“Each of the councillors are passionate about their community, which is exactly why they put their hand up, and I look forward to getting stuck in and working together.”

Honorary Freeman of the Shire Keith Rowe was on hand to help out with the swearing in. Thanks Keith!

Congratulations to all new councillors.


Back to All News