Local Government Election results declared

Published on Tuesday, 24 October 2023 at 12:32:05 PM


The votes in the Shire of Ravensthorpe Local Government Election have been checked and verified by the Western Australian Electoral Commission.

At 12 midday on Tuesday 24 October 2023 the Returning Officer declared the results as follows:  

Rachel Gibson, Karen Sinclair, Mark Mudie and Sue Leighton have been elected to the office of councillor in the district of Ravensthorpe on four-year terms that will expire in October 2027. 

Shire of Ravensthorpe CEO Matthew Bird congratulated the successful candidates.  

"It’s great to have two brand new councillors in Rachel Gibson and Karen Sinclair, who are obviously very passionate about their community," he said.

"I also look forward to working once more with Mark Mudie and Sue Leighton who have been re-elected."

Mr Bird also thanked everyone who voted and had their say in choosing who represents the community.


"To have 59.9% turnout at a local government election is a wonderful effort and shows how highly our community feels about having their say."

This election was the first time local government elections in WA used optional preferential voting. It is similar to how voting is done in State and Federal elections. 

Below is the breakdown in data from the 2023 Ordinary Election for the Shire of Ravensthorpe.

A Special Council Meeting will be held in the next week to vote for the new President and Deputy President.

Details of the meeting will be announced shortly.

Back to All News